Robotis Wizard, velocity control and multiple servos

I am new to the Dynamixel environment.

I have two questions regarding the Dynamixel software.

1. Can i change the velocity of the servos? I tried changing values to various fields, but when i hit the Goal Position, then the velocity of the servo remains the same.
  2. Is it possible to control two servos at the same time? What i want is to move both servos with one command. I understand this is something that it could be achieved with the SDK. But i tried to experiment with the Wizard 2.0 and it is impossible to connect two servos at the same time.

I use a U2D2 power board, and when i plugged two servos in the power hub board (with the RJ485 connections), then the Wizard software a)Only detects one servo after the scan
b) That servo is inaccessible (i keep getting “TIME OUT” and “ERROR”). Why two servos cannot be seen in the software?

Hello dood,

I’m happy to help you get started with your new DYNAMIXEL servos by answering your questions:

1. The answer to this depends on which operating mode the DYNAMIXEL is in.

If the DYNAMIXEL in question is in Position Control Mode then you will want to adjust the Profile Velocity, and possibly perform PID Tuning to further refine your results.

If it is in Velocity Control Mode you will want to adjust Goal Velocity

2. It is possible to control over 200 DYNAMIXELS at the same time! They can be either connected in the way you have done so, or by connecting them directly to one another in a daisy chain configuration.

The issue you are experiencing is most likely because the DYNAMIXELS are sharing overlapping IDs. The image below shows where to find the ID of the DYNAMIXEL in the control table layout on Wizard.

Before connecting multiple DYNAMIXELs you should connect them one by one to your PC and change any overlapping IDs before connecting them all together.

Thank you very much for your reply!
Some concerns: